The Ramblers Association

Milton Keynes & District Group


The Pathcheckers (Footpath Secretary's page)


In addition to the elected officers of the Committee we have a team of member volunteers who check paths in the parishes which comprise the Milton Keynes District. The Path Checkers check the paths within their parishes and report path problems to the Council and to The Ramblers. They also, in many cases undertake light remedial work to keep paths open and in good order, such as cutting back vegetation and putting up new waymark discs where necessary.

We often have vacancies for new Path Checkers, and if a parish has no Path Checker listed against it we are looking for a volunteer. Even if no vacancy is shown, it may be that some of our Path Checkers are ready to pass their duties on to fresh volunteers, so if you think you can help in this work please get in touch with me at (

If you wish to get in touch with a Path Checker for one of our parishes you can do so through me at the same email address. I will of course talk to volunteers before they commit themselves, and give help, instruction and advice, so no prior experience is required. If you are interested in taking on one of the vacancies or assisting one of the existing path checkers within one of the MK parishes a map showing the boundaries is shown below together with our current volunteer path checker list. Within the Borough we have over 700 paths totalling in excess of 500km so there is plenty of room for more assistance in a vital task that benefits us all.  

Parishes and Path Checkers as of February 2017

Abbey Hill Vacant
Astwood & Hardmead Vacant
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford Brian Graves
Bow Brickhill Ian Dunford
Bradwell Peter Hurst
Broughton & Milton Keynes Linda Marsh
Calverton Vacant
Campbell Park Vacant
Castlethorpe Jim Monaghan
Central Milton Keynes Vacant
Chicheley Vacant
Clifton Reynes & Newton Blossomville Vacant
Cold Brayfield Vacant
Emberton Kit Eaton
Fairfields Mike LeRoy
Gayhurst Pat Fitzsimons
Great Linford Gail Dunn
Hanslope Vacant
Haversham cum Little Linford Vacant
Kents Hill, Monkston & Brinklow Linda Marsh
Lathbury Pat Fitzsimons
Lavendon Vacant
Little Brickhill Ian Dunford
Loughton Andrew Gardiner
Moulsoe Gail Dunn
New Bradwell Vacant
Newport Pagnell Kit Eaton
North Crawley Jim Monaghan
Old Woughton Linda Marsh
Olney Vacant
Ravenstone Vacant
Shenley Brook End Peter Hurst
Shenley Church End Peter Hurst
Sherington Vacant
Simpson & Ashland Linda Marsh
Stantonbury Vacant
Stoke Goldington Hilary Riley
Stony Stratford Martina Delany
Tyringham & Filgrave Kit Eaton
Walton Linda Marsh
Warrington Vacant
Wavendon Susan Lloyd
West Bletchley Merrian Lancaster
Weston Underwood Jane Ashby
Whitehouse Mike LeRoy
Woburn Sands Ian Dunford
Wolverton & Greenleys Peter Hurst
Woughton Community Linda Marsh

If you'd like more information on the paths within each parish then the Milton Keynes Council web page provides an interactive map showing Redways, Bridleways and pedestrian routes.
NOTE: You'll need to click on the 'My Maps' tab, then select and tick 'Public Rights of Way' in the 'Side Panel'.


The Ramblers’ Association is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales. Company registration number: 4458492.
Registered Charity in England and Wales number: 1093577, registered charity in Scotland number: SC039799.